Sunday, September 6, 2009

Mendelssohn's Piano Trio No. 1: 1st Movement

Here is a classic performance of the opening movement of Mendelssohn Piano Trio No. 1 in D Minor which members of the West Branch Music Festival will perform.

In this video footage broadcast on television in the 1950s are three musicians who were considered some of the finest musicians of the century: violinist Jascha Heifetz, cellist Gregor Piatigorsky and pianist Artur Rubinstein. Rather than being filmed in a concert hall, they taped this performance in someone's living room to give it a more intimate feel. Originally, chamber music (which means music to be performed in a room) was meant to be played in a smaller place than a big concert hall. Imagine Mendelssohn and his friends playing for you in his own music room at his home in Leipzig.

- - - - -

- - - - - - -

- Dr. Dick